CMU at the Drama Desk Awards

The 65th annual Drama Desk Awards took place virtually on June 13 due to the ongoing pandemic.  The ceremony, which streamed on, featured Carnegie Mellon University School of Drama alumni in numerous categories.  Among them were Leigh Silverman, nominated for Outstanding Director of a Musical for Soft Power and Peter Hylenski, who won Outstanding Sound Design for a Musical for Moulin Rouge!

A Soldier’s Play won Outstanding Revival of a Play which starred alumnus Blair Underwood.  Christian Borle took home Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical for Little Shop of Horrors, which also won Outstanding Revival of a Musical. 

Antwayn Hopper appeared in A Strange Loop while Carson McCalley appeared in The Inheritance which won Outstanding Musical and Play, respectively.

The Drama Desk also recognized Mary Bacon with the Sam Norkin Award for her career which includes two of Off-Broadway’s most humane performances this season in Coal Country at The Public Theater and Nothing Gold Can Stay presented by Partial Comfort Productions.

For a full list of nominees and winners, please visit the Drama Desk website.